A Way for Busy Moms to Find Time to Read

Now that I’m a mom, I hardly have time to shave my legs, forget about reading a book. But I do enjoy reading. My dad travels a lot for work, so he listens to audiobooks in the car. I used to tease him about it, but realized that he was onto something. He was renting audiobooks from our local library, but switched to using an app called “Overdrive”. It’s essentially an online library. There are thousands of titles available to listen to, and read. I actually prefer reading them. There’s every genre you can think of to choose from. Right now, I’m reading a book about ghost stories and legends of Eastern Connecticut.

My taste in books varies greatly. Since I started using Overdrive last summer, I’ve read comedy books by David Sedaris (absolutely love his writing) and Jen Mann’s “Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat”, Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, historical fiction and nonfiction, and health and wellness books, just to name a few.

Setting it up is simple. You just need to download the app onto your phone, and follow the prompts for signing up. You can check out a book for two weeks, and if there’s one you’re looking for that has already been snagged, you can add yourself to the checkout list and you’ll get an email as soon as it’s available. There are no late fees, and most titles have the convenience of being available in audio format.  There have been a few times where they haven’t had a title or author I was particularly looking for, but more times than not, I can find exactly what I’m searching for.

Call me simple and not tech-savvy, but when I first started using Overdrive, I was amazed. I thought it was so cool that I could download just about any book I wanted and have it right there at my fingertips. The same titles that I  could purchase at a bookstore were available to me for FREE.

For all you moms out there that miss being able to curl up with a good book and read for hours, I recommend giving Overdrive a try.

Leave a Reply

