Dansko Shoes: An Honest Review

14569550_10209385157279175_1436948984_nEarly this past Summer, I went and bought myself a pair of Danskos. They’re those clogs that a lof of health care professionals wear. What lead me to this purchase is the claim of so many people of how comfortable they are for walking. I am on my feet a lot, so I thought that despite the high price tag, it may be worth doing.

Danskos come in so many different colors, patterns, and styles. Because I knew I’d be wearing them with a lot of different outfits, I went with a brown color called “Espresso.”

When I first slipped my foot in, I was alarmed by the amount of space between my heel and the back of the shoe. The salesman instructed me to take a few steps, and assured me that the shoes are supposed to feel like I’m going to slip out of them.

When I got home, the first thing I did was tear into the shoebox and put those puppies on. I clomped around the house a bit to get a better feel. As I was walking up the stairs, I almost felt like I was walking for the first time. Their unique fit does take a little bit to get used to, I’ve learned.

So as I was walking up the stairs, I scuffed the front of my left shoe on the stair rise. And it left a mark. Bummer. After wearing my Danskos for several months now, I’ve noticed that the toes do tend take a beating.

Now, to the rumors. Many people had told me that Danskos absolutely killed their feet at first. And oh did they kill. It was mainly the tops of my feet, but a little in the arches as well. I bit my tongue and sucked it up, but I was wondering if I was ever going to break them in enough for the pain to go away. I had just spent a little over $100 on a pair of shoes, so I didn’t tell a soul how much I hated how they made my feet feel.

Then around week 2, something beautiful happened. The pain went away one morning when I slipped them on, and they actually felt comfortable. Ahh. I had reached Dansko nirvana.

I’m wearing my Danskos as I type this, and I wear them every chance I get. I didn’t so much this summer, because they look a little silly with shorts. Now that it’s fall, I like having something warm and comfortable to slip my feet into, plus they look with jeans, my staple. I prefer my Danskos to sneakers when walking around our neighborhood. They are just so comfortable.

If you have recently purchased Danskos and are going through that painful period, my advice is to stick it out for a week or two, and give them a chance.

 

Leave a Reply

