No More Cookie-Cutter Thoughts

14627911_10209449374564567_788721231_n

The delicious apple crisp I made today, while not at a “real job”.

I recently made a very scary and risky decision, one that had to be made. I gave my two weeks notice to my job, and Saturday was my last day. Yesterday being a holiday, today is technically my first real day on the job…of not having a “job”. A traditional one, that is. Being a mother is a full-time gig in and of itself, and I will hear nothing otherwise.

I love to write, and I also enjoy sharing my new recipes and information with the interwebs. So I’m trying to make it as a mommy blogger. Am I crazy? Certainly. My marbles have fled ages ago. But blogging isn’t what makes me crazy 😉

When telling a co-worker/friend about my new endeavour, she applauded me and said something that stuck. I had mentioned that I feel sorta guilty, like the black sheep, for not going to college right out of high school, and not seeing the point in slaving away at a job to pay for a nice house that I never get to enjoy with my family because I’m busy working for my nice life. She then said “Well, you just don’t have cookie-cutter thoughts.” And she’s right. I think that the kids that are in high school these days need to realize that there’s no one right career path. Back when I was a senior, I had no idea what I wanted to do. Why would I, I was only 18! I am in no way bashing working hard to earn a living. I’m just advocating for the living part.

Let me share a short story about something that happened this Summer that helps me to get my point across. In retrospect it seems silly, but it was actually life-threatening. It all started with a dragon fruit. I had never had this exotic thing before, and after trying one for the first time, I wound up in the ICU three days later. I had had a severe anaphylactic reaction to the fruit. The reason I’m telling you this is because during those three days of absolute misery, I received several texts from my boss asking me when I would be back. She even dared say to me, knowing full well where I was, that she understands, it just puts them in a tough situation being short-staffed. Can you believe it?

Prior to this experience, I had been having some rebellious thoughts about leaving my job to work from home, but this added to it. I thought to myself, why would I have a real job? Why should I have to ask permission to be sick, or to take my kid to an appointment? I realize people probably think I’m nuts, or wonder how well this work out for me, but I’m determined.

I pulled the trigger two weeks ago, apologizing to my boss but letting her know that I would be leaving in two weeks. Yes, I was a little worried, but I kept my faith in myself. Now that I’ve left, I’m really enjoying my time at home. Today I made apple crisp, and since starting my blog about a month ago, I’ve had the inspiration to accomplish lots of things that I had been meaning to do for a while, like trying out new recipes, and creating my own. I’m hopeful for the future, and feel that I am on the right path.

To whoever is reading this right now, thank you for visiting my blog, I’m happy to have you along for the ride. 🙂

Megan

Leave a Reply

