Autumn Is The Best Season

It may or may not be clear by now that Autumn is my favorite season.  Halloween is also my favorite holiday, with Thanksgiving coming in second. I’d be hard pressed to name my single most favorite thing about the season, so I’ve come up with a list. I hope it conjures up warm Autumnal thoughts for you.

  1. The leaves changing color. I’m on the lookout for foliage at the end of July. It’s a good thing I live in New England.
  2. The smell of the air. There’s something about the combination of leaves, chimneys and earth that gets me every year.
  3. Being able to wear warm clothes again. I’m always cold, so this should be self explanatory.
  4. The change in the sky. Every morning when I’m standing in the bathroom getting ready, I look out the window and notice the tree in the neighbor’s yard in contrast with the sky. It has gone from Summery green leaves against a baby blue background, to a very dramatic red and gold tree against a cool gray sky.
  5. The change in lighting. Have you ever noticed how the sun seems to pour into your windows and hit the walls and floor in different ways depending on the time of year.?It can be hard to notice if you’re not thinking about it, but I can see in the morning when I come downstairs at the same time, that the lighting changes from season to season.
  6. The TV shows. I love creepy documentaries and ghost type shows, and in October there are usually a lot of these on TV.
  7. The anticipation of the holidays. I get excited for the holidays every year, and I like that when I wake up on November 1st, it’s socially acceptable to start planning Thanksgiving menus and Yankee swaps.
  8. Alone time. In a season that’s full of family get-togethers, parties, events, and sometimes chaos, it’s nice to have some alone time. Maybe it was the pregnancy hormones, but I have a very distinct and sentimental memory of driving home to my parents’ house one early October afternoon. It was just me, and I remember as I was driving through a secluded part of our town, smelling someone’s fire burning in the distance and admiring the intense reds and oranges of the trees.
  9. October weather. October gives us some of the most beautiful days here in New England. Just yesterday when I ran out to the store, it was sunny with a hint of a chill in the air, but warm enough to go out without a jacket. Perfect weather for being outdoors.
  10. Sitting by the fire. With a Snuggie blanket and drinking wine. 🙂
Leave a Reply

