Coconut Oil Hair Mask

14805613_10209525232820976_109309894_nI envy the women who have the time to do different hair treatments and “masks”.  I’d hate to jinx myself by saying this, but my hair is usually pretty tame so I haven’t had any need for such things.

I do notice that my hair needs some “life”, though. Especially if I’m due for a trim soon. But I’d hate to spend money that I don’t have on something that may not even work. And with all the products to choose from, how do you know which one is right?

Coconut oil is all the rage these days, and for good reason. It’s incredibly versatile, completely natural, and it actually works. So yesterday I came up with a simple hair recipe using coconut oil and melaleuca (Tea Tree Oil). In a previous blog post I explained how beneficial tea tree oil is, so why not combine it with the coconut for added benefits?

I call it “Glamour Goo”, because it leaves you with beautiful hair, but the coconut oil is goo-like.

What  I did was melt about a tablespoon of coconut oil in the microwave. Once it was completely liquid, I added about 6 drops of tea tree oil. My hair is medium length, so I didn’t need too much, but for those of you with longer hair you may want to do 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and 8 drops of tea tree oil.

14800861_10209525232740974_1827747611_n.jpg

Hard to see, but the coconut oil is liquid here.

I stirred the two oils together. Then I brushed out my hair. From here it gets a little messy. I scooped up some of the mixture into my hand, then used my fingers to rake it through my hair from root to tip. I kept doing this until my hair was covered and the mixture was gone.

My hair being a greasy mess, I balled it up into a bun and wore it like that all afternoon. Fast forward 6 hours later:

14627755_10209525461826701_972045050_n-1

The quality of the above picture isn’t the greatest, but you can see how greasy it looked when I finally let it down to get in the shower. After letting the water run over it for a couple minutes to get some of the coconut oil out, I gave it a good scrubbing with shampoo. Then again. I was able to get most of it out, and could feel how smooth my hair was from the oil. I went to bed with it wet, and when I woke up this morning, it was super soft and smooth, and surprisingly not greasy at all.

14805347_10209530539313635_433161867_n.jpg

What it looked like this morning!

I am impressed with the results, and the takeaway for me is that I likely got the same results that I would have from some expensive hair mask.

Because my hair looked like a mess with the coconut oil in it, I would recommend doing this on a weekend when you don’t have to the leave the house for several hours. It is very much worth trying though! By the way, the tea tree oil isn’t necessary, but it does promote hair and scalp health. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

