If You Don’t Use Sunscreen, At Least Put This Around Your Eyes

14804873_10209569510767897_413197973_n.jpgIf you don’t already know that regular use of sunscreen is key to youthful, healthy skin, you must be living under a rock. Yet despite this common bit of information, many people do not listen. Why? For me, it’s because sunscreen makes my skin breakout. Not a good excuse, I know.

In my defense, I do wear some sun protection. Let me tell you what, where and why.

About a year ago I was chatting with my hairdresser while she was cutting my hair. Let me just say that I’ve been seeing the same hairdresser for more than 10 years, and she looks like she hasn’t aged a day. She’s in great shape, and has great skin. But back to my story. So I was getting my hair done and we started talking about her age. She told me she was 45, and it was so hard for me to believe. Needless to say, she does not look 45.

It was then that she told me about a trick her grandmother told her. What she does is put Oil of Olay around her eyes. That’s it. I was so surprised that it was that simple. Granted, she clearly exercises and eats well, which play a part in her looks. But it made sense to me. The eyes can really show our age, and if we take action at a young age by protecting the precious skin around our eyes, I have no doubt that it will pay off.

I have no shame in admitting that after that hair appointment, I went out and bought a bottle of Oil of Olay with broad spectrum SPF 15. Every morning after washing my face, I religiously apply a pea sized amount of the lotion under and around my eyes. Like I mentioned in the beginning, sunscreen tends to make my skin breakout. Fortunately I have not had that experience from just putting it around my eyes.

So the lesson here is that if you aren’t already wearing sunscreen, the least you could for yourself is begin protecting the windows to your soul!

2 thoughts on “If You Don’t Use Sunscreen, At Least Put This Around Your Eyes

Leave a Reply

