For Those Who Are Unsure About Taking The Road Less Traveled

I have a theory that I’ve talked a little bit about before. It goes like this: we should feel free to explore other life paths other than going to college, going into major debt, finding a job we don’t love, and slaving away for a nice home/car/etc that we can’t actually enjoy…because we’re working non-stop for those things. And no, I am not bashing working for a living. Like I’ve said before, I’m just standing up for the living part.

Here’s some inspiration for those of you who feel similar to how I feel, and for those who need some encouragement.

  1. My mom was talking to a psychiatrist friend the other day, and somehow I came up in the conversation. My mom told her about my “rebellious” thoughts, how I think we need to rethink the traditional career path. The psychiatrist was impressed, and said this was very wise.
  2. I was watching Arthur with Maddy the other day. Remember that kids show!? Anyway, it was an episode about going to college. Muffy, a rich girl who is one of the main characters, was bragging about her father going to an ivy league school. Fast forward to the end of the episode, and Muffy’s father explains that he never went to college. He had a plaque from an Ivy league school hanging on his wall because he donated a library! Maybe I’m thinking about this too much, but it really struck a chord with me when I saw on a kids show that the most wealthy and successful character says that he did not go to college. I think that is a good message.

I apologize for the rant. My hope is that someone feels inspired and encouraged reading this.

Leave a Reply

