5 Tips for the War Against Dry Skin

  1. Lather on the coconut oil. That’s right. What I like to do when my hands are feeling dry is scoop out about 1/2 a teaspoon of coconut oil from the jar, and rub it into my hands. They tend to be greasy for a little while afterwards, so this would be good for doing right before bed.
  2. Slap on lotion fresh out of the shower.  I like Jergens Wet Skin moisturizer, which is meant to be put on right after showering. Doing so helps to lock in moisture, and we like that.
  3. Wear gloves. Show your hands some love by wearing gloves. Years ago, a nail stylist  told me that she always wears gloves when it’s 50 degrees F or less out. Good tip. Needless to say she had very nice hands and nails.
  4. Moisturize hands after doing laundry. Do you ever stick dry, chapped hands into the dryer to grab clean clothes, only to have the heat hurt your poor hands? Well it happens to me, so I try to keep lotion on my hands before and after doing laundry, mainly in the winter. I like Queen Helene Cocoa Butter lotion.
  5. Show your lips some attention. You don’t want to be lip-locking this winter with sandpaper lips, do you? Don’t forget to put chapstick on! And prevention is key, remember to put it on before lips get chapped. I like Blistex Daily Conditioning Treatment, which is SPF 20. I usually put it on before going out, and after showering.

img_3962

Happy lotioning, stay moist.

Leave a Reply

