What Helps Whiten Teeth, Cure Headaches, and Boost Immunity?

IMG_4050.JPG

Pearly mountains of wonder.

For the past week, I have been trying “oil pulling”. You may or may not have heard of it before, I wouldn’t be surprised either way. Basically, it is the practice of swishing oil around your mouth for the numerous health benefits it brings. In fact, I’m oil pulling as I type this.

In layman’s terms, oil pulling works by drawing impurities from the body. It is an ancient Ayurvedic practice that has made a comeback!

Supposedly, oil pulling helps with gum health, acne, cavities, cracked lips, boosting immune system, and the list goes on. One of the main reasons I started oil pulling is because many claim that it helps to whiten teeth, and I actually think I’m noticing a difference.

Many sources say that you should use about a tablespoon of oil, usually either coconut, olive, sunflower, or sesame. I use coconut oil. What you do is swish it around your mouth for 10-20 minutes, then spit it out. It can be challenging to do at first, especially if you have a weak stomach. Fortunately I don’t mind the taste of coconut oil.

The first day I tried it, I didn’t notice any difference afterward.

But the second day, I looked in the mirror after and I swear my teeth were looking a little brighter. Ok, so maybe this was worth the 20 minutes of swishing.

Fast forward a week. I’ve been oil pulling all but a day or two that I missed. I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed that when you’re driving and you look in the rearview mirror, the lighting is perfect for showing every detail on your face, good and bad. This was my test to see how well the coconut oil was helping to whiten my teeth. I flashed my pearly whites, and was pleased to see that my bathroom mirror hadn’t lied; my teeth did look whiter.

As a person who is somewhat skeptical of some natural remedies, it was a little hard for me to believe that something as simple as coconut oil has helped me accomplish whiter teeth, which people pay big money for.

I should also mention that oil pulling is said to help with hangovers and headaches, too. I fortunately have not had the opportunity to test either. But after this week, I’m inclined to believe that there could be some truth to that.

In case you’re wondering, I do intend to continue oil pulling. If what they say is true, it’s an unbelievably cheap and easy way to help your body stay in tip-top shape. I’m eager to see what other benefits it brings the more I do it.

You should give it a try!

Leave a Reply

