The Skin War: A Deal With My Boyfriend

IMG_4081.JPG

This morning has been an interesting one. Eric doesn’t work Mondays, so he’s home with Maddy and me.

To start my story, let me explain that yesterday when I woke up, I discovered I had a “blemish” that appeared right where my glasses rest-below my eye on the side of my nose. It was very painful, and very inflamed. Sorry for those details.

This morning when I woke up, it was bloody and mostly gone. But the aesthetics weren’t enough for Eric. No, he’s the type who picks at every scrape, zit, you name it. I guess he doesn’t believe in skin healing on its own.

In a previous blog post, I told about how Eric and I bonded over a Biore pore strip. So it should be no surprise that he was bugging me to “fix” the spot from my glasses. Needless to say, my answer was a big “Hell no!”.

He let it go for a little while, then an hour later brought it up again…this time, with a deal. The man knows me well. He knows that it worries me and drives me crazy how unhealthy his diet can be. I try and try again to get him to eat healthier, to no avail. But today, there was something in it for him.

His deal, you ask? He will try one of my green smoothies if I let him “take care” of my face. He had me right where he wanted me. I reluctantly agreed. I knew if he tried one of my smoothies, it would be love at first sip. I hoped.

Eager as a kid on Christmas morning, and with the steadiness of a surgeon, Eric used a scraping motion to make my face “all better”….So sweet of him!

I looked in the mirror after, and it did look better. But it would have gotten there with time! Hmph.

As for the smoothie, well, once my operation was over I got to work cutting up fruit to put in the freezer. We’re still waiting for it be ready for blending, but I’m confident he will love it.

The moral of the story is that sometimes you need to get creative to get what you want!

2 thoughts on “The Skin War: A Deal With My Boyfriend

Leave a Reply

