Follow-Up: Eating Yourself Tan

img_4156

I recently did a post about the claim that eating a generous amount of beta-carotene -containing foods will give your skin a natural glow. We certainly want that to be true!

So after doing some reading on the subject, I set out to test it for myself.

Two weeks ago was when I published my earlier post. I figured that would be ample time to increase my beta-carotene intake and see even the slightest results, if any.

To give you a better idea of what I’m talking about, let me explain what a typical day looked like:

Key: Bold words mean beta-carotene food

At least one cup of spinach in my morning smoothie.

Salad at lunch with broccoli in it.

Sweet potato at dinner.

So you see, I’ve been trying to get at least three servings of foods with beta-carotene per day, which is probably more than a lot of people get.

Unsurprisingly, I didn’t notice much of a difference after the first week. But now that we’re at the end of the second week, I’m honestly a little surprised to say that there does seem to be more evenness to my skin, which I know is not the same thing as a glow. But I’m getting to that.

I do not know what the exact dictionary definition of “glow” is, especially pertaining to skin, but I’d call what I’m seeing in my skin a glow. By that I mean that it does not look dull or blotchy, and it does not look pale or wan.

Now, whether or not the beta-carotene is responsible for this is hard to say. Some may speculate that the timeline is too close to be coincidental, while others may say that I haven’t consumed enough beta-carotene, or for long enough, and that it’s all in my head.

As for what I think, I’d like to believe that it is due to an increased amount of beta-carotene, and not only that, but more fruits and vegetables in general.

We are what we eat, after all.

If being healthy isn’t enough reason for you to munch on some carrot sticks, then at least do it for the sake of your glowing skin! Give it a try for yourself and let us know if you, too, notice anything different.

 

Leave a Reply

