Do We Enjoy The Holiday Stress?

img_4142

While the holidays are full of happiness and warm feelings, they’re also known for the huge amounts of stress they can cause people.

Waking up Thanksgiving morning and realizing you forgot to buy a turkey is indeed very stressful, but I’m not necessarily talking about that kind of stress. Let me explain myself better.

This morning when I woke up around 5, I had a golden opportunity to sleep in, which almost never happens. But I didn’t act on it. Instead, I got myself out of bed and went downstairs. I wasn’t thinking about Thanksgiving, yet somehow my hands and feet were doing chores at a fever pitch, getting ready for the big day tomorrow.

Then I was thinking about Thanksgiving, and all of the things that still needed to be done. About all the baking that hasn’t even been started yet, the cleaning frenzy that’s going to happen tonight, and then continue again tomorrow. You’d think all these dizzying thoughts would make a woman go insane. Just the opposite. Thinking about the to-do list got me excited. It gave me an adrenaline rush.

Generally in the final hours, and then minutes before the guests arrive, my adrenaline is at full force. I guess that’s that holiday cheer at work.

It’s funny, I almost like the anticipation and “good stress” before the event even more than the event itself.

I’m looking forward to waking up tomorrow morning, and enjoying a cup of coffee in peace in solitude. I’m an early riser, so I may even catch the Thanksgiving sunrise. Then, one by one, the family will wake up and begin the day’s work. We’ll busy ourselves making pies, roasting the turkey, doing dishes, dusting, and vacuuming.

Any other day, this may seem like boring, tedious work. But the stress and anticipation that comes with it makes it enjoyable.

Well, at least to me.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

