DIY Sugar Scrub Stars

IMG_4570.JPG

These came out way cuter than I anticipated! I made these sugar scrub stars with Christmas in mind, as they would make an easy, cheap gift. Who doesn’t like getting a handmade gift, right? Plus, you can personalize the color and fragrance however you like.

When making scrubs, a general rule of thumb is to use 1 part coconut oil to 2 parts sugar or salt.

You’ll need:

  • Coconut oil
  • Sugar or salt
  • Essential oil
  • Food coloring (optional)
  • A rubber chocolate or ice cube mold

In this case, I used approximately 1/4 cup of coconut oil. What I did was melt it in the microwave until it had completely dissolved.

IMG_4558.JPG

IMG_4559.JPG

Once the coconut oil is completely melted, stir in the sugar. I used 1/2 cup of sugar.

IMG_4560.JPG

At this point, you can add a tiny drop of food coloring if you’d like. I dipped the end of a toothpick into my food coloring, and then swirled it around the coconut oil and sugar. I ended up with a very pale, pretty pink.

Next, you add the essential oil of your choosing. I used lemon, and I added about 5 drops. You can add more or less, depending on how strong you want the fragrance to be.

IMG_4562.JPG

Stir it all together so it’s evenly mixed.

From here, you’re going to scoop the scrub into the mold. You’ll want to pat it down with a spoon, making sure each mold is filled completely with the scrub. It should look like this:

IMG_4563.JPG

Now, stick the mold in the freezer for about half an hour. Once that time is up, check on your molds and see if they’ve hardened. If so, you can gently pop them out into a bowl. I like to keep mine in a jar in the bathroom. That’s it!

IMG_4565.JPG

This project is super easy to do, and you can experiment with different shapes, colors, and scents, and can even customize them to the time of year.

I hope you’ve found this useful!

 

Leave a Reply

