Is It Fair That Women Are Labeled As Crazy?

IMG_4776.JPG

It seems to be a running joke these days that women are crazy. And we go along with it. In fact, I just shared a funny photo to Facebook of a line graph depicting the hotness to craziness scale of a woman. But are we really as crazy as they make us out to be?

For example: Eric has a habit of getting caught up in what he’s doing, and if he’s at his friend’s house working on a project, he’ll often lose track of time. So when I call him, irritated, wondering when he’ll be home, he sometimes gets frazzled because he doesn’t see what the big deal is. While it isn’t necessarily a big deal, it still would be nice to know that he’s going to be late. And my reaction to this probably comes off as “crazy”, or overreacting. But I then need to remind myself that I’m not alone. After talking with many other women, I’ve learned that this seems to be a trend.

Now ladies, we need to know how to take a joke, but also know when to stand our ground. If a guy makes a PMS joke, albeit in bad taste, it’s not necessarily unjustified. I know that I tend to get cranky and irrational when Aunt Flow is in town. But on the other hand, we shouldn’t be deemed crazy for feeling strongly about something.

Here’s another example: this past October, Eric and I went to our friends’ wedding. He was one of the groomsmen. He told me at the reception that during the photo session, one of the bridesmaids was trying to be flirty with him, and even dared grab his…behind. He didn’t react to it, and wrote it off. I was later told by one of our friends who knows the bridesmaid that she is “odd” like that. That made me feel a little better, but I certainly was on high alert since some hussy was putting the moves on my man! Eric assured me I had nothing to worry about, but I still kept dwelling on it. It ruined the rest of the evening for me. I think after a bit I was getting on his nerves about it, but this is an instance where I don’t think I was being crazy. I think I reacted how any girlfriend would.

I can only speak for myself, but I’d imagine that many women would agree that short answers and certain tones of voice can tell us how someone is feeling. When Eric does this, I automatically think something is wrong, and can get paranoid, even if he says everything is fine. Yes, this may seem crazy, but perhaps us women have stronger intuitions than men?

Maybe we are crazy, but it’s out of love. And dare I say that men sometimes drive us to that point? I’m not saying that’s true in all cases, certainly not. But I believe for every 1 out of a handful of crazy women, there’s a man who drove her there.

One last thought on the subject; if being a crazy woman means feeling strongly about something, living boldly, and caring about her partner in all ways, then I suppose I don’t mind being labeled as a crazy woman.

Leave a Reply

