Easy Roasted Butternut Squash Seeds

It hadn’t crossed my mind that you could roast butternut squash seeds until the other day, when I was noticing how similar the guts of a pumpkin are to the squash. So I looked it up, and sure enough, that’s a thing!

Last night I made butternut squash soup, and as I was scooping out the guts, I put aside the seeds so that I could try my hand at roasting them.

First you need to cut your squash in half, like this:

Also, preheat your oven to 275 F.

img_4679

Once your squash is cut in half, you’ll notice that the seeds separate from the guts easier than pumpkin seeds. Gather all the seeds in a bowl.

Once you have removed all the seeds from the squash, pour them into a colander and rinse them well. IMG_4783.JPG

Give the coladner a good shake to get the excess water out, then pour the seeds onto a paper towel. Make sure that the seeds are mostly dry.

When dry, place the seeds onto a cookie sheet. I drizzled mine with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper. IMG_4786.JPG

Once the oven is preheated, cook the seeds for 15-20 minutes.

You can experiment with sweet and salty seasonings, this is just a basic recipe.img_4788

Leave a Reply

