DIY Natural doTERRA Carpet Cleaner

IMG_4795.JPG

Our carpet sees a lot of action and traffic-both human and animal kind. So I end up vacuuming it every morning. I also like to clean it once every couple of weeks as well. My favorite way to do that is by making a powder of baking soda and doTERRA’s On Guard immune supporting essential oil blend. Why is this my favorite way to clean the carpet?

  • It’s natural-I can use it with Maddy and the pets around
  • It smells wonderful
  • It’s cheap
  • A little goes a long way
  • No overwhelming odors or chemicals
  • It’s easy

For our size rug (about the size of the living room), I used roughly 1/2 cup of baking soda, and 4 drops of On Guard. I stirred the mixture well, then walked around the room, sprinkling it on the carpet as I went. IMG_4796.JPG

IMG_4799.JPGI let the baking soda sit on the carpet for about half an hour, then vacuumed it up. As I was vacuuming, I could smell the On Guard filling the room with its aroma-much more pleasant than your typical carpet cleaner! You may need to slowly push your vacuum over some spots to get all the baking soda up. But afterwards, you’re left with a clean looking and smelling rug.

Leave a Reply

