How I Get My Toddler To Eat Spinach, Watercress, Cilantro & More!

IMG_4789.JPGThis morning my almost two year old daughter, Maddy, shared my breakfast smoothie with me. I made it with bananas, coconut meat, almond milk, escarole, and watercress…and she had no idea.

You see, Maddy has quite an adventurous palate. Since we’ve been making smoothies everyday, Maddy has been eating the following on a regular basis:

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Bananas
  • Carrots
  • Sweet potato
  • Butternut squash
  • Spaghetti squash
  • Cilantro
  • Ginger
  • Coconut
  • Watercress
  • Escarole (endive)
  • Turmeric
  • Pineapple
  • Mango
  • Swiss chard
  • Avocado

Can you believe that!? And the best part is that she loves the smoothies I make. As soon as she sees me get out the blender, she says “I have some?”.

Since Maddy gets plenty of fruit and vegetables on a regular basis, I’m a little more relaxed when she wants to share a snack with daddy or have a cookie after dinner.

If you’re struggling to get your child to eat healthy foods, I highly recommend trying making smoothies. I’m fortunate that I don’t need to load our smoothies with a bunch of sweet stuff in order for Maddy to like them. But if you need to, you could add healthy things like peanut butter or fruit juice.

Yes, a smoothie takes a couple minutes longer to make than frozen waffles, but you can feel SO much better about what you’re feeding your child. It gives me great satisfaction watching Maddy gobble up a smoothie, knowing all of the nutrients and benefits she’s getting.

Give it a try, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

