5 Creative Ways To Bust Holiday Stress

IMG_4841.JPG

Christmas is in just a matter of days, and I still have barely begun to shop for gifts. I have a holiday party that I need to bake for, and we’re tight on money…but no stress! Well, I’m trying not to, at least.

I know that many people get way more stressed out about the holidays than I do, and I’d like to help. Here are five things that may just be what the doctor ordered to keep that meltdown in check!

  1. Schedule something enjoyable for yourself for after the holidays. I get super down when Christmas is over and the New Year has been rung in. It’s like, now what? Around this time last year, I was having some super stress, and that’s when I got up the nerve to look up day spas in the phonebook and scheduled myself a facial. Something as simple as a hair or nail appointment, or even a facial, can give you something fun to look forward to after the December chaos.
  2. Don’t be afraid to say no. Don’t you just love being bullied into going to holiday parties? Me either. Especially when you’re getting invites left and right. But you have enough to do as it is, so don’t be afraid to politely say no. The host should understand.
  3. Indulge in something you normally wouldn’t. ‘Tis the season to celebrate, so why not treat yourself to a glass of champagne and chocolate, just because? Or take a sick day, just because. Or buy yourself a new pair for shoes, just because. You deserve it.
  4. Go to bed early. I usually go to bed around 8:30, but to tell you the truth, I could probably be fast asleep by 7:00. With the shorter days and less daylight, our bodies need the extra rest.
  5. A coffee break. Sometimes you just need that extra kick of caffeine. It amazes how fast my mood can turn around after a cup of coffee.

However you decide to deal with the extra holiday stress this season, remind yourself that the holidays are NOT about money or gifts. Sometimes just giving yourself that reminder can snap you out of your rut.

Leave a Reply

