Relief That Christmas Is Over

IMG_4870.JPG

This year we pulled Christmas together just in the St.Nick of time. We finished our Christmas shopping on Christmas eve afternoon, and wrapped the last present around 10 o’clock Christmas eve night.

Christmas morning was pretty lowkey. Unfortunately, I did get a bit of that blue feeling that I’m sure others feel as well. It’s that feeling that whatever all the hype was about has been sort of a letdown. Now, yes, that does sound a bit Scrooge-y. All I mean is that a lot of the excitement surrounding Christmas comes from waiting for the big day to come. I think I almost like Christmas eve better than I like Christmas day.

And don’t get me started on how depressing it is to turn on a radio station that had been playing nonstop Christmas music since Thanksgiving, only to find that they’ve gone back to their regular broadcasting. Ugh.

On the other hand, I like when Christmas has come and gone. In the weeks leading up to Christmas, life sort of gets put on hold. Household projects get put on the back burner, and schedules are tighter. But once the holidays are over, life can resume.

Some years, Christmas is better than it had been in previous years. And sometimes, it’s not as good. I really should stop telling myself this, but every year I think to myself “Christmas would be better if (blank) and (blank).” Usually, it’s petty things like household projects being finished, more money in my bank account, etc. Now that I’m thinking about it, it’s almost like all the Christmases in the past have been “practice” for the “perfect” Christmas that has yet to come. But will it ever be perfect? Probably not.

One last thing I want to mention. Yesterday, I was making my breakfast and feeling a little sad that Christmas is already over. Then, I thought to myself: “Next year Christmas will be so much better with the upstairs bathroom finished.”

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

