Sneaky Ways To Get Your Boyfriend To Eat Healthier

IMG_4877.JPG

I love my dear Eric, but his diet is atrocious. The only vegetables he eats are the tomatoes used to make the sauce on his pizza. I worry about him, and he knows it. While it truly is not for me to say what he does and doesn’t eat, I can certainly make suggestions, be respectful of his decisions…and trick him 😉  Here are three of my “tricks”:

  1. Use a paper towel to blot. Ya know how fast food that comes in a paper bag leaves spots? It’s all the grease! Next time there’s pizza, fries, mozzarella sticks, etc., gently blot it with a paper towel, you’ll see all the grease that is absorbed. Sure, this isn’t going to make a huge difference, but it still counts.
  2. Use olive oil or coconut oil. Eric and I have a tradition that on almost every Saturday morning, I make him breakfast. When he asks for French toast, I use either coconut oil or olive oil on the pan instead of butter. Same things goes for when I’m making eggs. And he has yet to catch on, which says a lot because he has a very picky palate.
  3. Be particular with bread. If you do the grocery shopping, stop buying white bread. Instead, opt for whole grain. I used to be a white bread girl, thinking that whole grain just wasn’t the same. Guess what? I now think that it’s better. Sometimes if we’re out of white bread, Eric will reluctantly use a slice of my bread (that’s right, we have our own bread). This goes to show that he can eat whole grain and live to tell about it.

It can be frustrating seeing someone you love destroy their health with the food they eat, but hopefully over time a little tweak here and an adjustment there will eventually lead to better choices.

Leave a Reply

