Are You Spending Too Much Money On Laundry Detergent?

IMG_4888.JPG Picture this: you’re walking down the laundry detergent aisle at the grocery store, and before your eyes, there is a sea of brightly colored bottles filled with tantalizing fragrances. There’s even such a thing as “Unstopables”, which we can thank Downy for. A little unnecessary, if you ask me.

So with all the different laundry products out there on the market, how do you know which ones are worth spending the money on, and which will get the job done for dollars less?

Through experience and  trial & error over the past 10 years, I’ve discovered which detergent and fabric softener are my favorite.

You should know that I don’t critique lightly- with a super messy toddler, and a boyfriend who comes home covered in grease sometimes, I’ve had to be particular with laundry detergent. If it doesn’t do the job to my standards, it gets the boot.

What do I look for?

  • pleasant smell
  • lasting fragrance
  • cheap
  • economical
  • ability to get out grease stains
  • softness of clothes

I used to use only Tide, generally the original. I had no problems with it, it’s a good brand. But I had no idea I was spending a couple extra dollars on Tide when I could have been getting Arm & Hammer for cheaper. The only difference I’ve noticed between Tide and Arm & Hammer is that Tide comes in a better variety of fragrances.

In my local grocery store, a bottle of Tide is about $11.99, whereas a bottle the same size of Arm & Hammer is about $6.99…wow!, considering they both are of the same quality.

If you can spend an extra few dollars on a detergent that smells tropical, then that is wonderful. But if you’re trying to save some money, considering going with Arm & Hammer next time you’re shopping.

 

Leave a Reply

