Do You Dehydrate Fruit? Here’s Why You Should

IMG_5097.JPG

Two Christmases ago, Eric got me a Presto Dehydro Fruit Dehydrator…and I love it! It is very simple to use, and you can dehydrate quite a bit at once. And not just fruit, either. Vegetables too.

One of the things I really like about dehydrating fruit is that it’s healthy, completely natural, and you can eat it like chips or candy-without any guilt.

IMG_5095.JPG

The possibilities of what you can dehydrate are practically endless. In the past I have done apples, bananas, pears, pineapple, and peaches. Apples and bananas are my favorite.

With our Presto Dehydro, it takes approximately three hours for very thinly sliced apples to be crispy and crunchy. With bananas, it’s a little bit longer. It also depends on how thick you slice the fruit.

You can even add spices and seasoning to your fruits and vegetables, like cinnamon or sea salt.

We usually buy fruit in big hauls, so when something is about to go bad, dehydrating it is a great way to use it up without wasting it.

As a mom, I really like that I can give my toddler a healthy snack and know that it is not loaded with tons of sugar. She also enjoys watching it in the dehydrator and seeing how it is made.

IMG_5096.JPG

One feature that I really like with my Presto dehydrator is that it comes with four stackable trays, so I can make up a whole bunch at once.

Yes, it is much more time-consuming to cut up all fruit and vegetables, then wait for them to dehydrate, versus buying a bag of them at the store. BUT you never truly know what goes into the store bought fruit and veggie chips. Often times there is a bunch of unnecessary added sugar.

Here’s a quick little story: I got the idea to ask for a dehydrator for Christmas from a co-worker at the time. Her husband had just bought her one, and the dehydrated fruit she brought into work looked so good. After getting mine for Christmas, I told her about it at work. She then said “Oh, I’m not using mine anymore. I’m on a diet and don’t want all that sugar.” I thought she was crazy. It’s fruit. 

Anyway, if you are looking for a healthy, crunchy, sweet and/or salty snack, you should consider purchasing a dehydrator. Yes, it takes a little bit of time, but I actually enjoy watching the process, and savor it that much more.

Leave a Reply

