The Depressing Side Of Being A Stay-At-Home Mom

IMG_5108.JPG

I love being a stay-at-home mom. It is such a privilege to be able to stay home with my daughter instead of missing important milestones while she’s at daycare.

Unless you’ve been a  stay-at-home parent yourself, it may be hard to believe that our days are actually quite busy. Often times I don’t get to sit for more than 5 minutes before I’m up running around again. There are no scheduled breaks, and if your kid doesn’t nap, you may not be getting lunch that day.

Having the privilege of being able to stay home, I may sound a bit spoiled when I say that being a stay-at-home mom can be quite depressing. I would not change it for anything, but it has its downs just like any other job does. The difference between staying home and having a regular job is that the ups are a million times better ❤

So, let me explain further what it is like to be home. First of all, I am up at the crack of dawn just like everyone else in the house. Staying home does not at all mean that I get to sleep in. In fact, the last time I slept in past 8 o’clock was about three years ago. No kidding.

Our day typically starts around 5:30, and Maddy eats breakfast around 6:00. Most mornings she’ll be well behaved, eating her oatmeal in sleepy silence. But some days she’ll throw the whole bowl on the floor. The sun hasn’t even come up yet, and I can already tell that it’s going to be a long day. Unlike coworkers, who you can talk to and reason with (usually), toddlers are not the same. There is no reasoning with a cranky toddler, it’s their way or the highway.

Some days go really well-time goes by fast, Maddy is well behaved, and I’m in a good mood. Then there are days when the clock does not seem to be moving, and Maddy is throwing a tantrum every hour. Unsurprisingly, this can be very tiring. Both emotionally and physically. Yet for some reason I feel guilty saying that “I’ve had a long day”, when I have been home all day. Maybe it is because I don’t get a paycheck every week for being a mom, so I somehow feel like my work is less important. Regardless, there is certainly a stigma that comes with being a stay-at-home parent.

I try my best not to do this, but sometimes I can’t help but compare myself to working moms. Both jobs are important, and equally busy in their own way. Actually, when thinking back on the jobs I’ve had in the past, being a stay-at-home mom keeps me busier than any of them. Many people don’t realize this.

Another thing I want to talk about is weekends. Despite the fact that I am home all week, I do get that TGIF feeling, and enjoy the lax feel of the weekend. That said, there is something inside me that tells me I probably shouldn’t say “Thank God It’s Friday” out loud, for fear that someone may think “What difference does it make to you?”.  It makes a big difference-Friday night means enjoying adult time since Eric does not need to be up early, taking our time making breakfast on Saturday, and overall spending time together as a family.

Yes, I do occasionally get tired of vacuuming the same spots on the rug over and over again, but i’d get tired of mundane tasks at any job. Unfortunately at a regular job there would be other people to talk to when the work got monotonous. At home, it’s just me and my thoughts! It can get a little lonely sometimes.

Having said all of this, I believe that being a stay-at-home parent is not for everyone. Although it can be lonely and frustrating, I think that I am a great fit for the job and tackle my tasks well. I thoroughly enjoy cleaning and doing laundry, and most days I have something cooking in the oven. Maybe this sounds like a flashback to the 1950’s, but I truly do enjoy being a stay-at-home mom…a modern one, that is!

Leave a Reply

