An Easy Treat To Make With Toddlers

IMG_5374.JPG

Some days, especially in the Winter, Maddy and I get some serious cabin fever. In her it manifests itself as whiny tantrums and bored whining.

Noting that I had a bag of chocolate chips and pretzel sticks on hand, I decided to let Maddy help me make chocolate covered pretzels.

IMG_5365.JPG

For the sake of avoiding a massive mess, I decided only to make about two handfuls of pretzels.

There’s no need to measure anything- I just poured about 1/3 of the chocolate chips into a bowl and melted them in the microwave. It look about a minute and 30 seconds, stirring halfway.  IMG_5369.JPG

I laid out a sheet of aluminum foil to place the pretzels on. This is the part where children can help. Dipping the first pretzel, I showed Maddy how to swirl it in chocolate, then lay it down on the foil.

IMG_5370.JPG

IMG_5372.JPG

An option is to sprinkle some sea salt on top, although the pretzels are already salty 😉

It took about half an hour for the chocolate to harden. Then I placed them on a  plate and moved them to the fridge.

I’d be lying if I said this activity didn’t end in Maddy screaming, demanding chocolate. BUT it was fun while it lasted! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

