Ghostly Encounters In Our 1900 Farmhouse

IMG_5819.JPG

My parents and sister still live in the farmhouse that I grew up in. Here is a view down our road.

Before moving to New Hampshire, I lived in a 117 year old farmhouse in a rural Massachusetts town-about 45 minutes from where I live now.

The area is steeped in history. In fact, one of the oldest houses in town dates back to the 1700’s.

I lived in that farmhouse for 12 years, and in those years I have experienced different, unexplainable events. Below I share with you a few of them!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The farmhouse had a beautiful finished attic, which we simply called “the third floor”. It was converted into a guest room, and hardly anyone went up there.

One night back in highschool, my best friend Amber was staying over. It was probably around 11 or 12 when we were sitting on my bedroom floor, listening to music and talking. Suddenly, we heard what sounded like a bouncing rubber ball on the floor above us, which was the third floor.

We stopped and looked at each other, neither of us knowing what it could have been. Everyone else in the house was asleep, and there were no pets up there, as the door to the room remained closed.

IMG_5796.JPG

Being young girls up late at night, we were a little freaked out. But we quickly went on with the rest of our evening, forgetting the incident.

The next morning after Amber had left, I climbed the narrow staircase up to the third floor.

Nothing appeared out of the ordinary. No ghostly apparitions presented themselves. But what I did see sitting on the middle of the floor explained what I had heard: a rubber ball and jacks. They were mine, but I don’t remember how they could have gotten onto the floor.

And I don’t know how the ball would have been bouncing in the dead of night.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One summer a couple years ago, my friend Cassidy was visiting. It was late afternoon and we were sitting in my backyard, soaking up the sun. Our lawn chairs were facing a large picture window at the back of my house.

Cassidy and I were laughing and chatting with each other, having a good time.

Then something directed my eyes to the large picture window.

Standing in the window was the silhouette of a person, about the size of an adult male. It went as quickly as it came.

I was a little surprised, but figured it was my dad. No one else was home.

IMG_5820.JPG

That was when I looked to another window-the kitchen window-and saw my dad standing in the kitchen doing dishes. So it could not have been him.

I quickly brushed the incident off.

Some time afterwards, I was telling my mom about it. That was when she told me that she, too, had seen a figure in that window. It was when she was doing work out in the yard and nobody else was home.

Neither of us had an explanation for the occurrence, but we’ve learned to brush off such things.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This encounter was probably one of the strangest.

Four or five years ago my mom and I were in her bedroom watching TV. It was a late winter afternoon.

We were watching our favorite TV show at the time, “Celebrity Ghost Stories”.

I don’t remember who the particular celebrity was on this episode, but he was talking about his experience at a hotel.

He went on to explain how the curtain in his room moved on its own. As he was imitating the gesture with his hand, the curtain in my mom’s bedroom moved.

They were long, panel curtains. They stopped about a foot and a half above the floor.

We looked at each other, shocked. The only pets we had were two dogs, and they were both on the bed. There were no windows open as it was winter, and there was no fan on. Nobody had closed a door creating a breeze. And any mouse that may have been scurrying across the floor would have been far too short to even touch it.

It was a slow, fluid motion. Just like on the TV show.

To this day we have no explanation for this.

 

Do you have any ghost stories to share!? 

Leave a Reply

