What Would You Be Willing To Do To Lose Weight?

img_5790

Recently a friend of mine joined the “It Works!” family as a health and wellness consultant.

Unfamiliar with It Works!? So was I.

Basically, it’s a multi level marketing company that sells health and wellness products, and it all started with a body wrap that helps diminish the appearance of body fat. Now, the company offers an array of fitness shakes, cleanses, serums, and even greens that are meant to help detoxify the body.

Why am I telling you about this?

Because scrolling through the It Works! website, it occurred to me how much people buy into hype.

I believe that diets don’t work, and there is no pill, powder, shake, whatever, in existence that can do what healthy eating does. Along with exercise, of course.

In my opinion, the best way to absorb the nutrients from fruits and vegetables is to actually eat them. Not in a powder or pill form. That just doesn’t seem right.

It seems some diets are basically replacing one bad thing with a lesser bad thing.

Weight Watchers, for example. They have their own line of snacks and desserts. But if you read the ingredients on the back of the box, it’s mostly processed junk that our bodies don’t need-it’s just fewer calories!

Some may say my lifestyle is extreme, but I am certainly reaping the benefits, which tells me that I’m doing the right thing for my body.

That said, I often get questions from people about the things that I eat. I always tell them that I eat a plant-based diet, with whole grains, nuts, oils, seeds, chicken, and fish. I also tell them that dieting is far too complicated these days. I say, if you eat healthy, everything else will fall into place.

Don’t get caught up with fad diets and “cleanses”, just get back to basics.

Just a thought to ponder.

Leave a Reply

